News Ticker


Polaris Music Prize

TORONTO, ON – Friday, May 22, 2015.  Steve Jordan, Founder and Executive Director of the Polaris Music Prize, announced plans today for a series of Polaris Panels in Vancouver, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal and Halifax.

Formerly known as salons, Polaris Panels will feature general information about the Polaris judging process. Local jurists will offer insight into their own personal criteria for selecting their ballots.

In the past, salons had a general target audience of music obsessives, musicians, and aspiring music journalists.  Increasingly we became aware that our audience for these discussions were chiefly artists wanting to know more about the Prize, so we’re recalibrating these sessions slightly to speak directly to them,” explained Jordan of the changes. “That said, anyone with an interest in knowing more about Polaris are more than welcome to join us.”

ACTRA RACS (The Recording Artists’ Collecting Society) will once again be supporting these events.

ACTRA RACS is happy to return as a sponsor for the 10th annual Polaris Prize,” says ACTRA National President Ferne Downey. “These panels are not only a part of the celebration of Canadian music but also give music fans and recording artists an intimate look at the process of selecting the top Canadian album of the year.”

The panels will be co-produced by Music BC, Manitoba Music, The National Arts Centre, Pop Montreal and Halifax Pop Explosion.

The Polaris Music Prize Long List announcement will be held in Halifax, NS on June 16th. The forty titles will be announced at the world famous Carleton music venue and will be produced by the team at Halifax Pop Explosion.

The Short List will be unveiled on July 16th at The Carlu in Toronto, and the Polaris Music Prize Gala will return to The Carlu for the third year on Monday, September 21st. will once again stream the gala live.

The eligibility period for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2014 to May 31, 2015. An independent jury of 196 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are selected from the larger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury. They will convene the night of the gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Courtesy of Slaight Music, each of the nine other short listed artists will receive $3,000. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters.


Polaris Music Prize 2015 Key Dates:

  • June 16th – Long List announcement – The Carleton, Halifax, NS
  • July 16th – Short List announcement – The Carlu, Toronto, ON
  • September 21st – Polaris Music Prize Gala – The Carlu, Toronto, ON


Polaris Panels:

Vancouver, BC – June 3

  • Produced in association with Music BC
  • Guilt & Co.
  • 1 Alexander Street
  • 6:00 pm
  • Moderator – Steve Jordan
  • Panelists – Christine McAvoy (freelance), Gregory Adams (Georgia Straight), Trevor Risk (Ion Magazine) and Andrea Warner (CBC Music, Exclaim!)

Winnipeg, MB – June 4

  • Produced in association with Manitoba Music
  • Manitoba Music
  • 1-376 Donald Street
  • 5:30 pm
  • Moderator – Steve Jordan
  • Panelists – Jenny Henkelman (CKUW), Jen Zoratti (Winnipeg Free Press) and Michael Elves (101.5 UMFM)


Toronto, ON – June 19

  • 625 Church Street, 3rd floor
  • 3:00 pm
  • Moderator – Steve Jordan
  • Panelists – TBA


Ottawa, ON – September 5

  • National Arts Centre
  • 53 Elgin Street
  • Moderator – TBA
  • Panelists – TBA


Montreal, QC – September 16-20

  • Pop Montreal


Halifax, NS – October 20 – 24

  • Halifax Pop Explosion


About the Polaris Music Prize

The Polaris Music Prize is a not-for-profit organization that annually honours, celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music by recognizing, then marketing the albums of the highest artistic integrity, without regard to musical genre, professional affiliation, or sales history, as judged by a panel of selected music critics.  The Polaris Music Prize is produced in association with Blue Ant Media. @polarisprize


About RACS

ACTRA RACS is one of the performer organizations responsible for distribution of royalties collected on all tariffs related to sound recordings under Canada’s Copyright Act. ACTRA RACS is a division of the Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA) the national organization of more than 22,000 professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. ACTRA RACS (Recording Artists’ Collecting Society) returns as a salon sponsor for 2015. ACTRA RACS is the division of ACTRA National responsible for collecting and distributing equitable remuneration (neighbouring rights and private copying) to recording artists. / @actraracs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: